My Buys: An atomic console table

I picked up this mid-century console table at the Oxfam Home store in Dublin. I’m not sure what drew me to this style but I loved its unique design and rather bargainous price of €40. It was probably purchased in the 60s and then covered in black vinyl in the 70s/80s as was the trend at the time. The legs are detachable which is why it has survived so many moves over the years (I’ve abandoned a fair amount of furniture over the years, including a velvet button back wing chair I found on the street in Cardiff – I don’t think Ryanair would allow that in the check in).

_MG_5187-LO

My newly purchased vintage console table taking pride of place in the hallway. Image credit: Tiberiu Coroliuc/House and Home

It started my love affair with ‘atomic’ legs, these slightly outturned tapered legs that are so common on mid-century furniture. Furniture legs have gotten some serious attention in recent years and rightly so, they’re a gold mine of design potential. I’ve had loads of fun checking out various leg suppliers to spruce up my thrifty finds, by far my favourite being Sweden’s Pretty Pegs.

You can pretty much add legs to anything to make a personalised and fairly thrifty occasional table – check out this DIY project by Belgian interior design bloggers Woon (okay its in Dutch but the instructions are pretty clear from the gorgeous pictures!).

Woonblog-Comp

A sweet side/occasional table DIY project using vintage atomic legs by the design duo at Woon Blog. Photo credit: Woon Blog

 

 

Leave a Reply

